Dubious ads in Free Software Magazine

Hello Everybody,

This is an emergency post. I am writing it in Dubai. I am on my way to Rome and then London, only have 50 minutes left in my EeePC and no Dubai power adapter. The joys of travelling...

Some dubious ads have appeared in Free Software Magazine. I have received reports of a "virus scanner" (fake) with a malicious redirection. We currently use two ad networks, IDG and Adsense, and I don't have any way to figure out which one is giving problems. In any case, having worked with both of them, I am 100% sure this is something that simply slipped the net.

Please let me know, by email or as a comment here (email input AT and then freesofwaremagazine.com) the URL you get redirected to. This is a crucial piece of information.

I won't be able to investigate further for the next 24 hours. So... any help will be more welcome.

Thank you for your understanding and help!

Tony Mobily


Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article are permitted worldwide, without royalty, in any medium, provided this notice is preserved.